Now Accepting Debit Cards

I am happy to let all of you know that I can now accept Interac debit card payments for my photography business.  So if you, or someone you know, were considering me as your photographer for one of the types of services that I provide, but were hesitant to do so because I only accepted credit cards, now that will no longer be an obstacle.  My new debit card machine also accepts credit cards, so if you would like to pay me in person by VISA or MasterCard, and you’re not too comfortable with using the “swipe-and-sign” method of my Square Reader, then you can just pay via the “chip-and-PIN” method that we here in Canada have been so used to over the past number of years.  And, if you would like to pay through a contactless method, my new debit card machine allows for VISA payWave and Mastercard PayPass.  Those with American Express will still have to pay via my Square Reader, and I won’t be able to accept payments via your mobile device.

However, just like with the in-person credit card payments through my Square Reader, there is a caveat.  In order for me to be able to accept debit card payments, I’ll have to have access to a an internet connection.  That means that if you would like me to deliver your CD/DVD or other requested materials in person to your home or place of business, and you have wifi, you’ll have to allow me to log into your wifi connection in order to process your Interac debit card, “chip-and-PIN,” or contactless payment.  Unlike the Square Reader, the debit card reader doesn’t have an “offline mode,” which allows the user to accept the payment, and then process it when they connect to a public wifi connection.  So, if you refuse to allow me to login to your wifi, then you won’t be able to pay me via my debit card reader.

Another thing that you have to be aware of is, just like the payments made via the Square Reader, I’ll only process in-person Interac, “chip-and-PIN,” and contactless payments within the Calgary area, which would include Cochrane, High River, Okotoks, Strathmore, Airdrie, and other areas within that driving radius.  Otherwise, if you don’t live within that area, there are other payment methods that I accept.

Finally, you have to let me know that you would like to pay me via a method that involves the debit card machine ahead of time so that I can bring that along with my tablet.

Anyway, please let everyone you know about my photography business, and the fact that I can now process Interac debit cards.  I would really appreciate the business.

Leave a Reply

